PurSol Konjac Sponge – I figured out why these are awesome

You may remember an older post titled, Konjac Sponge, What’s with all the Hype? I wasn’t overly impressed at the time,  I thought it did a good job getting my face clean but didn’t understand what the big deal was.

So I tried it again, this time a different brand and two different types, and I have to say I LOVED IT. Way more than before. I used another charcoal infused sponge to help with blackheads and then a plain white one. I am not sure how well the charcoal infused one actually helped my blackheads, but the sponge gently exfoliated my skin, while deep cleaning it. Why is this one better than the last I tried? I THINK it’s probably the shape and density of this particular brand. It thicker, denser but smaller in size.

The one on the top is unpackaged, the black one has been used
The one on the top is unpackaged, the black one has been used, you can see how much it expands after you add water

I favored the white one because it was nice to actually see the makeup and dirt coming off my face, it just reassured me that it was working.

Just as reminder as to what a konjac sponge is; A konjac sponge is made from the root of a konjac plant found in Japan. This all natural plant root, turned sponge, comes packaged usually dry and you add water to expand it. The pictures shown are before adding water and after so you can get an idea as to how much it expands.

So what’s it do? The Konjac sponge is supposed to do the following:

  • Cleanse your pores
  • Gently exfoliate
  • Hydrates your skin and balances PH
  • remove excess sebum (the nasty white gunk that comes out of your pores)

Honestly, I can’t vouch that it does all that, especially since I have a pretty long regime of skincare products I use daily. I can promise you this, your skin FEELS cleaner! If you are using your fingers to wash your face, and you want a low cost alternative to say, a clarisonic, then I would highly recommend this product.  Find the charcolal one HERE  or the regular white one HERE on Amazon.com

5 thoughts on “PurSol Konjac Sponge – I figured out why these are awesome

Leave a Reply

